Skip to content

Sachin Tendulkar’s Master Stroke

September 21, 2011

I have a friend who is very wicked in his thinking. Every time we end up discussing any subject, I end up wondering how he can see things which I can never see.

The latest was on Sachin Tendulkar’s letter to ICC where Sachin has suggested a different format for 50 over one day matches. I was trying to discuss with my friend on how it will further make it difficult for us to get quality strike bowlers and how Dhoni might decide to go with all 11 batsmen instead of 4 bowlers.

My friend kept smiling throughout. If he didn’t agree with me, atleast I was expecting him to argue for the proposal of Tendulkar. I was waiting to hear from him that this proposal negates the advantages of playing conditions etc.

He completely foxed me with his analysis. According to him, Tendulkar has played a master stroke. By splitting the 50 overs into 2 separate innings of 25 each, Sachin will ensure that no batsman in future will ever score hundreds in one day matches. Tendulkar’s one day hundred record will remain intact “for generations to come”.

If ICC falls for this, Tendulkar will soon propose something for Test cricket also. Then he can retire peacefully.

I don’t know whether I should admire my friend or Tendulkar.

3 Comments
  1. Tendulkar’s genius is coming out now…

    • I am curious about his proposal for test cricket

  2. Rejected by ICC !!!!

Comments are closed.

